Just another WordPress.com site

HIIT Training

I am trying HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training)  for a change to try to improve my running speed gradually. Yesterday, I ended up running a mile at a comfortable 4.5 mph pace. That’s not very fast, but it was a good, restorative pace for me. However, I want to make sure that I am getting all the benefits from the little I do spend working out, so today, I went to the gym  to work the treadmill (instead of biking in the gorgeous weather). Not only are they good to get your heart rate really going, put it is a good way to push your limits in short intervals.

As lovely as it is to run and bike outside, I am not good at controlling my speed. I may think I am running faster than I was, but apparently, I am not pushing myself enough. So at the gym I did a good 30 minute work-out:

  • 5 minute warm-up at 3.8 mph walking speed
  • 45 seconds of running at 7 mph
  • 2 min and 15 seconds of walking at 3.8 mph

It was much tougher than I expected. I’m not good enough to do 30 second sprint and then only 30 second recovery job.  This already was tough enough for me to finish!  The last running section I did on 8 mph to really squeeze all the rest of the energy out of me. It pretty much was  almost like an out of body experience for me.  First of all, I was  slightly shocked I was able to do it, but second of all, I didn’t have to time to think about it while I was running, because I had to concentrate on staying on the treadmill!!!  I think it’s absolutely crazy that people are actually able to run in these speeds for in any prolonged time. Kudos go to them! Ha ha.

I feel a little less morose than I have all this past week. I do have friends! I do need to keep reminding me of that. 🙂  And now, I think I deserve to have myself one beer… 🙂

Completely unrelated, my kitty and I decided to strike a pose.

 

Leave a Reply

